Lok Satta

Saturday, 12 April 2014 15:48

Dr. JP appeals to voters not to be swayed by wild promises


Loksatta Party national President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan today appealed to people of the two new States – Telangana and Andhra Pradesh – to vote only for candidates with integrity and competence who alone will safeguard their future.

Addressing media after releasing a list of 51 candidates who will be contesting elections to the Andhra Pradesh Assembly, Dr. JP warned that the two new States would face a bleak future if they vote for parties which are promising all types of sops including loan waivers unmindful of fiscal constraints.

The united Andhra Pradesh had witnessed agitations for and against formation of Telangana because youth in the two regions were concerned about their livelihood opportunities.

Instead of promising generation of more power, encouragement of manufacturing and provision of job opportunities to youth, most parties are trying to grab power by hoodwinking people with temporary sops and unrealistic promises.

Dr. JP said it would be a case of stillbirth both for Telangana and Andhra Pradesh if people do not wake up and think about their future. They should not be swayed by politics of money, dynasty and loyalties to caste and religion as they exercise their franchise.

Dr. JP said the elections have become so murky that in the just concluded ZPTC elections, some candidates had spent up to Rs.7crore each. All that the winners do is electing a zilla parishad chairperson. They have nothing to do thereafter for five years.

The two States are witnessing a mad, unbridled quest for power because it enables victors to loot people and the exchequer. No wonder, with candidates switching from one party to another at such a fast pace, that people do not know on behalf of which party they are contesting.

Dr. JP said people should realize elections are meant for them to chalk out their future and not the future of the candidates in the fray.

Dr. JP recalled that when all other parties promoted regional animosities, the Loksatta alone had worked for an amicable solution to the bifurcation of the State. It highlighted the problems the two emerging States would face and proposed solutions. He was happy and proud when the Union Government accepted most of Loksatta’s ideas.

All his happiness is now evaporating as he witnesses political parties making wild promises with the single point program of coming to power.

The Loksatta Party, he said, is contesting only a limited number of seats. It is seeking people’s votes not to come to power but to safeguard their future in the two States. It is fielding young and educated candidates. The average age of the 51 candidates named today is 35. They include 28 candidates belonging to BCs, SCs and minorities.

Replying to a question, Dr. JP said that Mr. Anurag Kejriwal of Delhi who made wild allegations against the party had been suspended.

Releasing the list of candidates, Mr. D. V. V. S. Varma, Convener of the party’s Andhra Pradesh Coordination Committee, appealed to people to vote for the Loksatta Party which alone can give a direction to youth who are in a state of despondency in the wake of the State’s bifurcation. He warned against voting for the YSRCP, which is steeped in corruption and the TDP, which is making reckless promises.

Mr. Varma said that the second list containing about 25 candidates will be released on April 16.

Party leaders Y. D. Rama Rao, Bhisetty Babji and Omkar took part in the media conference.

Following is the list of candidates released today.

S.No District Constituency Name Social Category
1 Srikakulam Palasa Tammineni Madhava Rao BC
2 Srikakulam Amudalavalasa Tammineni Annama Naidu BC
3 Srikakulam Rajam (SC) T.S. Babu Rao SC
4 Srikakulam Srikakulam Panchadi Rambabu BC
5 Srikakulam Echerla Pydi Ammi Naidu BC
6 Vizianagaram Gajapati Nagaram D. Eshwara Rao BC
7 Vizianagaram Vizianagaram K.R.D. Prasad BC
8 Vizag Vizag (North) Bheesetti Babji BC
9 Vizag Vizag (East) N. Venugopal OC
10 Vizag Vizag (West) Raman Balla SC
11 Vizag Gajuwaka Jampana Sridevi OC
12 Vizag Anakapalli V. Nukaraju OC
13 East Godavari Kakinada City Y.D. Rama Rao OC
14 East Godavari Mandapeta P.V.V. Ramakrishna Rao OC
15 East Godavari Ramachandrapuram M.B.S. Sastri OC
16 East Godavari Mummidivaram P. Prabhakar OC
17 West Godavari Eluru CH. Bheemeswara Rao OC
18 West Godavari Narsapur Nalla Surya Chandar Rao OC
19 West Godavari Nidadhavole Jeedigunta Krishna OC
20 Krishna Vijayawada East V. Bhanuprakash OC
21 Krishna Vijayawada Central B. Ashok Kumar SC
22 Krishna Vijayawada West G. Shiva Prasad BC
23 Krishna Penamaluru Zameel Ahmed Baig Minority
24 Krishna Machilipatnam Ankem Jitendra OC
25 Krishna Gannavaram Pamarthi Ramakrishna BC
26 Krishna Avanigadda N. Radha Krishna BC
27 Krishna Pedana Thirumani Edukondalu BC
28 Krishna Jaggayyapeta Ramakrishna Varma BC
29 Guntur Guntur West J. Irama Murthy BC
30 Guntur Chilakaluri Peta Madasu Bhanu Prasad SC
31 Guntur Macharla Darvemula Prakash OC
32 Prakasam Ongole Allu Shiva Ramesh Reddy OC
33 Prakasam S.Nutalapadu Varikotu Anjaneyulu SC
34 Prakasam Chirala G. Balasubramanyam BC
35 Prakasam Parchur J. Praveen Kumar OC
36 Prakasam Kanigiri T.V.K. Subbarao OC
37 Prakasam Markapuram S. Chandra Shekar BC
38 Prakasam Giddaluru K. Venkateswarlu BC
39 Prakasam Kondepi (SC) G. Madhava Rao SC
40 Nellore Nellore City N. Sridhar OC
41 Nellore Guduru K.V. Krishnaiah SC
42 Nellore Sulluru Peta J. Venkateswarlu SC
43 Nellore Nellore Rural Tunga Narayana Reddy OC
44 Chittoor Tirupati M.Siddaiah Naidu OC
45 Chittoor Thambllapally S. Saravana Kumar BC
46 Chittoor Madhanapally S. Jaya Chandra Reddy OC
47 Chittoor Nagari Pothugunta Vijay Babu
48 Kurnool Nadhyal J. Souri Reddy OC
49 Kurnool Emmiganur K. Vasantha Kumar OC
50 Kurnool Srisailam Bannuru Ameenuddin Minority
51 Kurnool Aluru G. Nagaraju BC