Lok Satta

Wednesday, 04 February 2009 09:37

Liquor Control Movement

Article Index
Liquor Control Movement
The Ball now is in People's Court: Dr. JP
Shedding blood to protest Liquor shop auctions
Letter to Governor
Letter to Excise Commissioner
The Ball now is in People's Court: Dr. JP
Novel protests against Liquor shop auctions
Panachayats banning liquor to Get Rs.1 lakh award
Demonstrations and sit-ins at Excise Department Golden age or era of stupor?
Women win battle against liquor shop
Lok Satta makes history by Effecting citizen arrest
Bottles broken in battle against belt shops
Lok satta volunteers to arrest belt shop owners
DR. J.P. condemns moves to promote liquor sales
Mahila Satta to rope in SHGs: Anti-Liquor Drive
Mahila Satta identifies belt shops and seeks their closure
Prakasam Women force belt shop's closure
All Pages

(Hyderabad, 04/03/2008)
Panachayats banning liquor to Get Rs.1 lakh award


Four villages which have enforced total Prohibition will get Rs.1 lakh each within a fortnight from the Committee appointed by the Government to prevent liquor consumption.

Mr. Uppuluri Mallikarjuna Sarma, the Committee chairman, gave this asssurance to a delegation of the Lok Satta Party here today.

The delegation, which included Mrs. D. Saroja, Mrs. N. Saroja Devi, Mrs. K. Gita Murthy and Mrs. Ramadevi, presented copies of the resolutions passed by the panchayats banning liquor consumption in their village limits and requested Mr. Sarma to honour his promise of awarding Rs. one lakh to each of the panchayats which have already enforced Prohibition.

The villages are: Andriyal in Tadvai mandal of Nizamabad district, Appannapet and Abbireddigudem in Garidepalli mandal of Nalgonda district and Modinsabpalle in Shakarajupalli panchayat of Siddavatam mandal in Kadapa district.

The Lok Satta Party, which has launched a movement against liquor sales by unauthorized outlets since July 2007, has mobilized women against liquor consumption in these villages with official cooperation and got the resolutions adopted by the panchayats.